East, west, home is the best

My belly is always full and I don’t have much space to fill with the food there. So what I do is, I keep having small snacks throughout the day. Well, sometimes I even have a few crackers or half of an apple at 4 a.m. if my body asks me to. I also get good ideas at 4 a.m. about how to dust the apartment’s walls and ceilings the best, or just do simple manicure. Nice and quiet.

Yesterday was one of those evenings when I wanted to cook something nice delicious and lush for my family. Thailand, its culture and nature has shaped my mind a bit, hence the idea about thai fried rice served in what they call pineapple boat.

20130402_143459_1

Now, doesn’t this make you picturing… tropical breeze sneaking in through your dark wooden bungalow windows and making white curtains dance slowly while you are cutting fresh pineapple for a smoothie and listening the sound of ocean waves? Ooh, this perks up my dreamy soul :)

20130402_142534_1

Cutting the pineapple half and making two boats out of it

photo-21

Basic “secret” ingredients in Thai cuisine.
Life would be dull without garlic, lime and chilli pepper.

20130402_190239_1

Dinner served.

 

Remember, my belly is always full and there’s no space for the food like this. So while I was happy watching Nik and Des enjoying their pineapple boats, I had a glass of smoothie.

photo-20

What’s in the smoothie? Avocado, spinach leaves, real peppermint, pineapple and orange juice.

20130402_190338_1-1

Fresh and tasty!

จากเรือนเหมือนนกจากรัง – (“East, west, home is best.”) – Thai proverb

Leave a Reply

